2020 Finalists

All of our finalists for the Constructing Excellence SECBE Awards 2020 are listed below.

From April-July 2020, our finalist blog posts will be released. Click the links below to find out more about our finalists.

Apprenticeship Initiative

sponsored by CoTrain

Bennett Construction
Bowmer + Kirkland
Making apprenticeships work in construction (VolkerWessels UK)
Waterproof Membrane Installer Apprenticeship (Langley Waterproofing Systems)

Building Project of the Year over £10 million

sponsored by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

Bulmershe Leisure Centre (submitted by Faithful+Gould)
Hounslow House (submitted by Bennett Construction)
Kingston University Town House (submitted by Willmott Dixon)
Lymington Fields School (submitted by Mid Group)
One Molyneux, London (submitted by CField Construction)
The Hoxton Southwark (submitted by Kier Construction)

Building Project of the Year under £10 million 

sponsored by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

41 Central Parade, Herne Bay (submitted by Betteridge & Milsom)
Dartford Valley Rugby Club (submitted by BBS Construction)
Hailsham Primary Academy (submitted by Morgan Sindall)
Lady Bee Enterprise Centre (submitted by ECE Architecture)
Poplar Works (submitted by Calfordseaden)
The Wolfson Building, John Radcliffe Hospital, University of Oxford (submitted by fjmt studio)

Civils Project of the Year

sponsored by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

M20 Junctions 3-5 Smart Motorway Scheme (submitted by Kier Highways)
M23 Junction 8-10 Smart Motorway Scheme (submitted by Kier Highways)
Springhead Bridge (submitted by Balfour Beatty)

Client of the Year

sponsored by Willmott Dixon

East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust (submitted by HazleMcCormackYoung LLP)
Sutton Housing Society
University of Oxford (submitted by fjmt studio)

Conservation & Regeneration

Chancellors Court & State Officers Court, Palace of Westminster (submitted by DBR Limited (London))
Exhibition London (submitted by URW)
LABS House (submitted by Od Group and Moxon Architects)
Visitor Centre, Christ Church, Oxford (submitted by Purcell)

Digital Construction  

sponsored by Clearbox

BIM Station to improve digital engagement (submitted by Kier Highways)
ECD BIM Consultancy Services for Portsmouth CC (submitted by ECD Architects)
Golden Thread Implementation through Digital Construction (submitted by JJ Rhatigan)
Hanover, Hanover Square, London (submitted by WSP)
Model firestopping reviews – technology & process demonstrate compliance (submitted by Ridge and Partners LLP)

G4C Future Leader 

Juliet Burch (Jessop and Cook Architects)
Millie Demol (Willmott Dixon)
Richard Whinnett (Turner & Townsend)
Rikkie Letch (Willmott Dixon)
Ruth Biddulph (Bowmer + Kirkland)
Tara Gbolade (Gbolade Design Studio)

Health, Safety and Wellbeing 

sponsored by VolkerWessels UK

Continuous improvement (Mace Aviation, Infrastructure & Retail)
Delivering Safely together (Kier Highways)
Masonry Frame Systems
Round One (Weybridge)


sponsored by RIFT R&D

BeadMaster™  (aask us Ltd)
Innovative improvements to Band Saws (Morgan Lovell)
LightSIM© (Hoare Lea)
Modular block retaining walls for Highways England (Kier Highways)
Recycled Asphalt Pavement (RAP) (FM Conway)
SMART LOGISTICS (Focus Logistics)

Integration & Collaborative Working

sponsored by Waterloo Air Products

Adur Civic Centre (submitted by HNW Architects)
Cambridge Central Mosque (submitted by Faithful+Gould)
Kennedy Building, University of Kent (submitted by Willmott Dixon)
Project Kale – Shell 600 Programme (submitted by Artelia)
Smart Collaboration (submitted by Kier Highways)
The Great Hall, Canterbury (submitted by WW Martin)


sponsored by Heathrow Limited

East Village, N06, London (submitted by Alternative Heat)
i-Form Solution, our P-DfMA approach to MMC (submitted by Masonry Frame Systems)
Manufacturing-led construction (submitted by Mid Group)
Roe Timberframe
Wood Wharf B2 – Canary Wharf (submitted by Peter Dann)

Outstanding Customer Satisfaction

sponsored by Southern Construction Framework (SCF)

Be the body (Sutton Housing Society)
Heading underground – upgrading Thanet’s sewers (submitted by TPMD)
M23 J8-10 Smart Motorway (submitted by Kier Highways)
M27 Jct 4 – 11 Smart Motorway: North Fareham Footbridge (submitted by bmJV)

People Development 

sponsored by Cheesmur Building Contractors

Construct a career (O'Neill & Brennan)
Dry Lining Academy at HMP Elmley (Willmott Dixon)
Southern Construction Framework (SCF)
Telford Homes Academy
Walker Construction

SME of the Year 

sponsored by CIOB

Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt
Betteridge and Milsom
BJF Group
Noviun Architects
Walker Construction
Warner Surveys


sponsored by Mulalley

GRAHAM Environmental Management
Greatfields Zone 2 (submitted by Mid Group)
Harris Academy Sutton (submitted by Willmott Dixon)
Holy Trinity, Tulse Hill - straw bale build (submitted by Holy Trinity Church)
HS2 area south enabling works (submitted by Costain Skanska Joint Venture)
Operating sustainably in partnership with Heathrow (submitted by Mace)


sponsored by Artelia Group

Berry Bros. & Rudd Pickering Place Offices, St James’s (submitted by Mowat & Company)
Bowes Road Estate (submitted by Langley Structures)
Efficiencies through innovation & continuous improvement (submitted by Kier Highways)
LABS House (submitted by Od Group and Moxon Architects)
Weekend Wonder-Shifts: Transforming joint replacement schemes (submitted by Jackson Civil Engineering)

Upcoming Events

Oxford Construction Networking Breakfast - 22nd May 2020
22 May 2020
Bill's, North Gate Hall, St Michael's St, Oxford OX1 2DU
More about this event

Recent Blog Posts

Client of the Year SECBE Awards 2020 finalist - East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust
20 May 2020
sponsored by Willmott Dixon
Read More