2023 Finalists

Congratulations to all our 2023 finalists and thank you to everyone who submitted an entry this year!

The SECBE Awards 2023 judges and sponsors were very impressed by the quality of the entries received this year. The industry is evolving with excellent projects delivered despite the challenges and uncertainties. It definitely shows that the time has come to celebrate and recognise achievements, and draw inspiration for the future development of the construction industry.

We are delighted to present our finalists and share their stories and accomplishments! 

Headline Sponsor

Building Project of the Year over £10 million

sponsored by Hill Dickinson LLP

Summerdown School (Morgan Sindall Construction)

Conservation of Elizabeth Tower (Lendlease)

Battersea Power Station Phase 2 (WilkinsonEyre)

Carnival Hub (Faithful+Gould)

HS2 Colne Valley Viaduct Temporary Jetty (VolkerStevin)

Indoor Tennis Centre, The All England Lawn Tennis Club (Willmott Dixon)

Lucent W1, One Sherwood Street (Design4Structures)

Building Project of the Year under £10 million

sponsored by Hill Dickinson LLP 

Mace Aviation - LV Electrical Panel upgrade Project (Mace Group)

HMP High Down – Training Facility (Galliford Try)

Highbury Roundhouse Youth and Community Centre (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects)

IBM Southbank Zero-Waste Decommissioning (joint submission by Ridge and Partners, IBM, Apleona UK and Brenmar)

Client of the Year  

sponsored by Perega

London Borough of Southwark (Faithful+Gould)

2Gether Support Solutions (WW Martin)

Kingsbrook Secondary School (Mace Group)

Conservation & Regeneration

sponsored by Unilin Insulation

Wiston Estate Winery (ECE Architecture)

Exeter College Porters Lodge Refurbishment (Jessop & Cook Architects)

Fitzherbert Community Hub (Stead & Co. Architects)

The redevelopment and redeployment of the Royal Sussex County Hospital’s grade-II listed chapel (DBR Ltd)

Carlton Mansions (part of Brixton House), Somerleyton Road (Galliford Try)

Digital Construction  

sponsored by Galliford Try

Heathrow Cargo Tunnel Refurbishment (Mace Group)

Use of interactive VR to improve planning and site logistic (VINCI Building)

SER Contractor – ABILO App (SER Contractor)

SymTerra (SymTerra)

Olympic Steps, Wembley Park (BIMBox & VolkerFitzpatrick - Joint Entry)

G4C Future Leader 

sponsored by Vantage Building Control

Tilly Hawkins (Cibes Lift)

Ellie Snee (Titan Elevators)

Elizabeth (Liz) McDermott (QuickFix Profiles)

Sarah Bolton (Lighthouse Construction Charity)

Jenny McLaughlin (Heathrow)


sponsored by VINCI Building

LiftWatch (Apex Lifts)

Tempus – Temporary Fire Doors | Selo Doors Innovation (Selo | Concealed Frame Doorsets, Riser Doors & AOV’s)

Ideas @ Invennt (Invennt)

Fire safety meets computational design (Laing O’Rourke, BDP & Solibri - Joint Entry)

MFS Remotely Controlled Mini Cranes (Masonry Frame Systems)

One Sherwood Street (Design4Structures)

Integration & Collaborative Working

sponsored by PiLON

Portsmouth & Southsea and Guildford Driver’s Walkways (Balfour Beatty Rail Design & Engineering)

MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences (LMS) Building (Walter Lilly)

Sovereign Group Types (HGP Architects Ltd)

Queen Mary’s Hospital – Transformation Programme (Galliford Try)

Kingsbrook Secondary School (Mace Group)

Modern Methods of Construction

sponsored by QuickFix Profiles

Heathrow terminal 3 level transfers project (Mace Group)

The Douay Martyrs School (Morgan Sindall Construction)

The MFS i-Form Solution™ (Masonry Frame Systems)

HCCAT (Hailsham Community College Academy Trust) (Morgan Sindall Construction)

Merstham Park School (McAvoy)

Lucent W1, One Sherwood Street (Design4Structures)

Net Zero

sponsored by Knauf

Electric Piling Rig – Area East, SCS JV (SCS Railways Joint Venture)

Bullingdon Community Centre (Jessop & Cook Architects)

QE Class Logistics Centre, Portsmouth Naval Base (Francis Construction)

People Development

sponsored by VolkerWessels UK

Titan Elevators

All Great People – FM Conway’s Drive for Equal Opportunity

b&m: People First (Betteridge & Milsom)

HMP High Down – Construction Mentorship Partnering Programme (Galliford Try)

Sarah Wigglesworth Architects


Residential Project of the Year

sponsored by Advantage Structural Defects Insurance 

Private Contemporary House, Guildford (Lytle Associates)

Zero-Carbon Social Housing by ZED PODS in partnership with Ashford Council (ZED PODS)

Battersea Power Station Phase 3A – Electric Boulevard (Sir Robert McAlpine)

Charles Court (POD Architects)

The Silk District Phase 2 (BSBG)

SME of the Year 

sponsored by Baxall Construction

QuickFix Profiles

HNW Architects

Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt

Playle & Partners LLP

Walker Construction

INVVU Construction Consultants


sponsored by Southern Construction Framework (SCF)

HMP High Down – Training Facility (Galliford Try)

The Fitzherbert Community Hub (Stead & Co. Architects)

Highbury Roundhouse Youth and Community Centre (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects)


sponsored by Faithful + Gould

Bullingdon Community Centre (Jessop & Cook Architects)

ALIGN JV HS2 C1 Package - Chiltern Tunnels and Colne Valley Viaduct (ALIGN JV)

Wokingham Leisure Centre & Library complex at Carnival Hub (HLM Architects)

WW Martin – Melbourne Avenue (WW Martin)

Southsea Coastal Protection Scheme – Frontage 1: Long Curtain Moat (VolkerStevin)

Zero-Carbon Social Housing by ZED PODS in partnership with Ashford Council (ZED PODS)

Upcoming Events

Virtual Judging Interviews for the Awards 2024 take place on 1st & 2nd May 2024
29 March 2024

More about this event

Recent Blog Posts

SECBE Awards 2024 Finalist Noviun Architects
30 April 2024
SME of the Year sponsored by Baxall Construction
Read More