2020 Finalists

As we were unable to run a full programme with our Gala Dinner this year, we hosted an online ‘head-to-head’ judging day and three live awards ceremonies instead on Thurs 2 July 2020.

‘Head-to-head’ judging day: our 7 judging panels had previously met and decided on the top two finalists from each category. These finalists were then interviewed online to determine the winner.

Awards ceremonies: we held three fun webinar awards ceremonies after the ‘head-to-head’ judging sessions where we crowned all 18 winners!

We had a new and special award for 2020 – the People’s Choice Award. Voting buttons were added to each finalist blog post. With a resounding win, Morgan Lovell's team from the Queen Elizabeth’s School, Barnet, took home the trophy!

>>> See our dedicated 2020 winners’ page here <<<

The first two teams listed in each category below were selected for the ‘head-to-head’ judging.

Apprenticeship Initiative

sponsored by CoTrain

Making apprenticeships work in construction (VolkerWessels UK)
*** Winner *** Waterproof Membrane Installer Apprenticeship (Langley Waterproofing Systems)

Bennett Construction
Bowmer + Kirkland

Building Project of the Year over £10 million

sponsored by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

Kingston University Town House (submitted by Willmott Dixon)
*** Winner *** Lymington Fields School (submitted by Mid Group)

Bulmershe Leisure Centre (submitted by Faithful+Gould)
Hounslow House (submitted by Bennett Construction)
One Molyneux, London (submitted by CField Construction)
The Hoxton Southwark (submitted by Kier Construction)

Building Project of the Year under £10 million 

sponsored by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

*** Winner *** Hailsham Primary Academy (submitted by Morgan Sindall)
Poplar Works (submitted by calfordseaden)

41 Central Parade, Herne Bay (submitted by Betteridge & Milsom)
Dartford Valley Rugby Club (submitted by BBS Construction)
Lady Bee Enterprise Centre (submitted by ECE Architecture)
The Wolfson Building, John Radcliffe Hospital, University of Oxford (submitted by fjmt studio)

Civils Project of the Year

sponsored by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield

M23 Junction 8-10 Smart Motorway Scheme (submitted by Kier Highways)
*** Winner *** Springhead Bridge (submitted by Balfour Beatty)

M20 Junctions 3-5 Smart Motorway Scheme (submitted by Kier Highways)

Client of the Year

sponsored by Willmott Dixon

East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust (submitted by HazleMcCormackYoung LLP)
*** Winner *** Sutton Housing Society

University of Oxford (submitted by fjmt studio)

Conservation & Regeneration

*** Winner *** Exhibition London (submitted by URW)
Visitor Centre, Christ Church, Oxford (submitted by Purcell)

LABS House (submitted by Od Interiors and Moxon Architects)
Chancellors Court & State Officers Court, Palace of Westminster (submitted by DBR Limited (London))

Digital Construction  

sponsored by Clearbox

*** Winner *** Model firestopping reviews – technology & process demonstrate compliance (submitted by Ridge and Partners)
Hanover, Hanover Square, London (submitted by WSP)

BIM Station to improve digital engagement (submitted by Kier Highways)
ECD BIM Consultancy Services for Portsmouth CC (submitted by ECD Architects)
Golden Thread Implementation through Digital Construction (submitted by JJ Rhatigan)

G4C Future Leader 

sponsored by Innovative Future Leaders Programme (IFLP)

Tara Gbolade (Gbolade Design Studio)
*** Winner *** Millie Demol (Willmott Dixon)

Juliet Burch (Jessop and Cook Architects)
Richard Whinnett (Turner & Townsend)
Rikkie Letch (Willmott Dixon)
Ruth Biddulph (Bowmer + Kirkland)

Health, Safety and Wellbeing 

sponsored by VolkerWessels UK

Continuous improvement (Mace Aviation, Infrastructure & Retail)
*** Winner *** Delivering safely together (Kier Highways)

Masonry Frame Systems
Round One (Weybridge Group)


sponsored by RIFT R&D

*** Winner *** Innovative improvements to Band Saws (Morgan Lovell)

BeadMaster™  (aask us Ltd)
LightSIM© (Hoare Lea)
Modular block retaining walls for Highways England (Kier Highways)
SMART LOGISTICS (Focus Logistics)

Integration & Collaborative Working

sponsored by Waterloo Air Products

*** Winner *** Project Kale – Shell 600 Programme (submitted by Artelia)
Smart Collaboration (submitted by Kier Highways)

Adur Civic Centre (submitted by HNW Architects)
Cambridge Central Mosque (submitted by Faithful+Gould)
Always working collaboratively (submitted by ITC)
Kennedy Building, University of Kent (submitted by Willmott Dixon)
The Great Hall, Canterbury (submitted by WW Martin)


sponsored by Heathrow Limited

East Village, N06, London (submitted by Alternative Heat)
*** Winner *** Manufacturing-led construction (submitted by Mid Group)

i-Form Solution, our P-DfMA approach to MMC (submitted by Masonry Frame Systems)
Roe Timberframe

Outstanding Customer Satisfaction

sponsored by Southern Construction Framework (SCF)

*** Winner *** Be the body (Sutton Housing Society)
M27 Jct 4 – 11 Smart Motorway: North Fareham Footbridge (submitted by bmJV)

Heading underground – upgrading Thanet’s sewers (submitted by TPMD)
M23 J8-10 Smart Motorway (submitted by Kier Highways)

People Development 

sponsored by Cheesmur Building Contractors

Telford Homes Academy
*** Winner *** Walker Construction

Construct a career (O'Neill & Brennan)
Dry Lining Academy at HMP Elmley (Willmott Dixon)
Southern Construction Framework (SCF)

SME of the Year 

sponsored by CIOB

*** Winner *** Noviun Architects
Walker Construction

Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt
Betteridge and Milsom
BJF Group
Warner Surveys


sponsored by Mulalley

Harris Academy Sutton (submitted by Willmott Dixon)
*** Winner *** Greatfields Zone 2 (submitted by Mid Group)

GRAHAM Environmental Management
Holy Trinity, Tulse Hill - straw bale build (submitted by Holy Trinity Church)
HS2 area south enabling works (submitted by Costain Skanska Joint Venture)
Operating sustainably in partnership with Heathrow (submitted by Mace)


sponsored by Artelia Group

LABS House (submitted by Od Interiors and Moxon Architects)
*** Winner *** Weekend Wonder-Shifts: Transforming joint replacement schemes (submitted by Jackson Civil Engineering)

Berry Bros. & Rudd Pickering Place Offices, St James’s (submitted by Mowat & Company)
Bowes Road Estate (submitted by Langley Structures)
Efficiencies through innovation & continuous improvement (submitted by Kier Highways)

People's Choice Award

* new for 2020 *

*** Winner *** Innovative improvements to Band Saws (Morgan Lovell)

Upcoming Events

Virtual Judging Interviews for the Awards 2024 take place on 1st & 2nd May 2024
29 March 2024

More about this event

Recent Blog Posts

SECBE Awards 2024 Finalist Noviun Architects
30 April 2024
SME of the Year sponsored by Baxall Construction
Read More